october 1st 2023

album cover

loading
loading
loading

  I was extremely tired last night, so you get update now.

  Yes! The Katamari shrine is complete! My original drafts went way too long-winded. I have a lot of feelings about Katamari but I decided to avoid getting too in-depth with them, I assume the fact I made a shrine about it says enough.

  Some new neighbors moved in a week or so ago and I made them a cheesecake yesterday. I added a bit of molasses and brown sugar to the crust and I put strawberry halves on top. They seem nice and we figured it'd be a nice way to welcome them. I was getting a little stressed out when the cake was done, because as I took it out of the springform pan, the bottom crust began to crack and the filling got a few tears in it. It turned out alright, though.

  I also fixed the Bently portable TV yesterday. The day before, I opened the thing and diagnosed the problem was a popped fuse. I unsoldered the fuse, and then I soldered it back in because I thought the legs that were soldered onto the fuse might be easier to get off if they were on the PCB, and then I unsoldered them again because I realized it wasn't going to be easier. Then, yesterday, I soldered the legs onto the new fuse(not very well) and put it back on the PCB. It doesn't look pretty, but I put the 9 D cell batteries in the back and turned the dial and it worked! A while ago I jury rigged the wall wart I got for it that was the wrong polarity so that it'd be the right polarity, but I don't think I'm going to risk using it. For some reason, instead of using my soldering gun, I used a wood burning tool to re-solder the wires, and the brass tip started to absorb the solder(?) and make the joints look really ugly. I'm just going to get an actual correct Bently power converter instead.

  Haven't been doing much else, otherwise. Playing a lot of Mount and Blade, especially the Age of Sword and Sorcery mod. TF2 has had highs and lows. Tried kippers, they are nice. Enjoying the beginning of fall.

  That's all I can get out of my head for now, I suppose. Still most of a day left. Have a good one!