january 2024

album cover

loading
loading
loading

12th

  Nothing exciting lately. Just playing GTA4 and Morrowind and getting mad at my car. I haven't driven it in quite a while and the battery that was in it was dead dead, so I replaced it with a battery from my grandmother's car after she had me replace it. It hasn't been going well, I heard the thing bubbling so it's probably low on acid and it started the car exactly once. I had the battery charger hooked up to it for the entirety of last night and that wasn't even enough to crank. What's also irritating is that we have TWO jump packs but one is missing the charger and the other is missing the jumper leads. ALSO the rear driver outer door handle came off when I tried to open it a few months ago. Yippee.

  I did finish and write down my thoughts on the French ration though. It was good, but one of the mains was not for my palette, and the nougat was like trying to eat a tire, but at least it tasted good. Everything else was fine or great. The Dutch ration(which I keep almost calling Danish) is massive and will probably take quite a long time to finish, more time than I'd like to have between updates. It's just got so much stuff in it.

  Really not much else going on right now. Waiting for things to happen once again. I feel like that's what I've done for a very long time, at least since I could realize that's what I was doing. Anyways, have the updates that I was sitting on until I finished the ration.

4th

  I feel really good today because I got all of what I wanted to do done. One of my New Years resolutions this year was to lose some weight so I've started alternating days of walking and some bicep curls. In the past I've tried to exercise consistently and I think one of the biggest issues was that I made it too complicated setting out complex workout plans, but I think this will work for the weight I want to hit. Did all my chores and then took pictures of some of the stuff I got for Christmas, mostly for the MREs page. Those are upcoming.

  Thinking about making most pictures have thumbnails, or maybe seeing if there's a frontend way I can compress the images on the things/projects pages. I read a transcript of a talk given in 2015 about reducing site bloat and I think it's a worthwhile venture. The only thing I can't really control the size of is the songs, but I think those only load once the play button is clicked. I don't remember if that's how I coded it!

  I've got a good feeling about this new blog format. I've already written around a third the length of last blog and it's not even a sixth into the month. Let me know how you guys think about it, it'd help to get a second opinion on it. At this point it might even be better to learn whatever the hell RSS is than bother having to update my site every time. Though, I don't know if people would check the blog if it didn't have an activity feed update on Neocities. That is usually how I know if sites have updated and whether to check them or not...