april 2024

album cover

loading
loading
loading

18th

  I'm in Texas right now. Arrived on the 4th after doing my driving test on the same day, and I passed it. I've been staying with a friend at his apartment, and I'm getting him to clean up a bit, because his place was a little cluttered when I first got here.

  First notable thing we did was go to the Scarborough Renaissance Festival. All I had to try and look appropriate was a tunic and a leather strip, but my friend had a whole outfit, including boots(which didn't break in). It was really fun, we went to a beer tasting and watched some of the shows going on. Some other people my friend works with arrived as well, and we got some food; I had a 'rogue sandwich' which is apparently a brisket and onion sandwich with a pickle spear and potato salad. A lot of weirdos there, which I suppose makes sense. Renaissance fairs are like a convention but normal people go to it as well. A lot of people used it as an excuse to dress up as Jack Sparrow or Link. It's fine to do that, but it just makes me want a more serious event(visually, I don't want to have to LARP). It was a really fun event, though, and we're gonna go back in a few days I believe, since we got a weekend tickets and they can be used non-consecutively.

  I also got invited to my friend's brother's wedding! I made a cheesecake as a gift for them. I was afraid it didn't turn out good because I used my friend's oven and the rack was set too high so it looked like the top was overcooked slightly, but it turned out to be fine. The wedding was pretty small and short, they just did the legal ceremony at the courthouse, but we went to their apartment afterwards to chill a bit before our reservation at this crazy resturuant/bar/club/event space in Dallas. The food was really good, Korean BBQ ribs and kabobs with charcuterie boards and plates of fries, meatballs, kalamari, etc. as appetizers. I'm not sure I'll have anything that good for the rest of the year. Also good cocktails, there was this one with blue curacao that tasted fantastic. The place itself was crazy as well, there were other little rooms besides the covered outdoor area we ate in that it was cool to explore while they got the food ready.

  Finally(for this post), we went to a concert. The ticket band was Sextile, but Sculpture Club and Donzii were heading them, and we got the tickets to see Sculpture Club. The reason we did that is that the venue wasn't in Dallas, so we wouldn't have to sit through the traffic that Dallas spawns when you get 300 yards away from it. The venue was a weird little place, not what I was expecting. Sculpture Club was great, they played an awesome set including My Favorite. Chaz was in the main room of the venue afterwards, selling shirts, which both I and my friend bought one of. I had never heard of Donzii or Sextile before the show, and Donzii turned out to be awesome. Jenna did this great office meeting gimmick, handing out nametags as the set was starting to people in the front. Their sound blew me away and I got right in the middle of the crowd, getting into the grove. Also grabbed a shirt of theirs afterwards, when Sextile got a few songs in. For Sculpture Club and Donzii the fairly small crowd space wasn't full by any means, but when Sextile started to play it got packed. That the crowd looked fairly fruity should have been my cue to get out of there, but the music started and it was this weird EDM-y stuff which I really wasn't expecting. I didn't like it, especially live, it was just a bass test with barely detectable guitar. We left a few songs in to beat the traffic, because it was obvious the whole crowd came for Sextile. Had a nice cider there, and the atmosphere was kinda cool if weird. Overall very cool. Excited to go to more concerts in the future.

  I've been chilling in my friend's place while he's at work and he's got a VR headset. Playing some HL2 VR mod with it is fun! First time I've ever tried it and while it's a little hard to get correctly focused with the lenses, I had a lot of fun with it. Anyways that's pretty much it. I intended to get this down Tuesday but I got a bit lazy. I'm gonna get back to chilling in the cut. Until next time!