may 2024

album cover

loading
loading
loading

6th

  I'm back home right now. I've been tired and not wanting to write a blog, I'll get into why in a bit.

  After last blog my friend and I went to his parent's land to shoot some guns and hang out. We spent a lot of the day out at Walmart in a nearby town waiting for someone to man the sporting goods desk so my friend could by a Ruger 10/22, which he got delayed for, as well as picking up some ammo and stuff for smores. That night, after we had smores and some ciders around the campfire, we slept in this elevated tent suspended between the trees. The tent was pretty uncomfortable and we didn't have pillows or much bedding. The night started out hot but it started storming and the floor of the tent got really cold. Neither of us slept very well. We were really tired and sore afterwards. I had the rest of the week off after that but my friend had to go to work.

  The weekend after that we went to the lake and grilled burgers! We got some bell pepper to put on them, but we forgot to get cheese. It was a very nice day out and I hadn't swam in quite a while, I forgot how much effort it is to just stay afloat while upright. The water was fairly murky because it's a reservoir, but it was fine to swim in. We did shower after we got back, though. I got a little sunburnt on my face.

  Then, weekend after that, we went to Fort Worth to visit the Army Navy Warehouse there and do some thrifting as well. We forgot we had a tabletop game on that day at 4 PM! We had to wrap it up fairly quick, I didn't think we were going to make it before we finished dinner. For dinner, we went to this Italian place and ordered some slices of pizza. They were huge, probably 10" or 11" long, and they were so good. I got mine with pepperoni, Canadian bacon, and green pepper slices. I had to stuff myself to get the last half of the second slice in me, but I didn't regret it one bit. We made it back in time, though, and we played Necromunda. We wanted to get a snack afterwards, because it had been a while since we ate, so we went to Braums, but they had the longest line ever. We went to Dairy Queen instead and I had a Blizzard for the first time. It had frosted animal cookies :)

  We also went to a rollerskating rink. Rollerskating is hard! My friend took a bad fall to his knee and he's felt it for about a week afterwards. I took a few falls on my hands and one on my tailbone, which didn't feel good. It was really fun though, and I did a few laps without falling. The day after that was when I flew out, so we got lunch at Cracker Barrel and I flew back home. Being away from home for a month gave me a renewed appreciation for a lot of stuff here, mostly not living in an apartment I suppose. I had a lot of fun!

  And then a few days after I got back, my brother and I went on a hike to the lake. We got there and I decided that we should hike around the lake to the town that was close. The rest of the hike was under trees, but around the lake was a raised concrete dike which, while it gave a great view of the lake, it exposed us to the sun completely. My brother got the worst of it because he decided to wear shorts and a t-shirt, I had jeans and a long sleeve button-up. It turned out it was about 4 miles walk, and we walked there so we could go to one of the resturaunts there, but it was 2:40 PM or so and apparently nothing there was open at that time except the convenience store. It wasn't very satisfying to find that out right when we got there. We got some stuff to eat and drink and started to head back, and the 6 miles there and back were brutal. Our feet were killing us and we didn't have barely any water left, and it started to rain. It felt good for the first few minutes and then we realized that the last mile or mile and a half was going to be soaking wet. I was hobbling the day after and I'm still sore from it. It sucked, but I found great enjoyment in the fact I could just keep going, knowing how bad it sucked. You just have to keep putting one foot in front of the other.

  Anyways, between then and now I played another session of Necromunda and I'm helping work on some equipment for a GURPS Cabal game set in 2045. I grinded it out for 4 hours and I've been relaxing since. I gotta get up tomorrow to help my mom with some stuff. After I push this update I'll be going to bed, so goodnight!